Bedroom Chair and Mirror

As we have only recently moved to our new home, while out walking one morning I got chatting to a neighbour of ours. When I say neighbour, I mean someone that lives close, our nearest neighbour is about 300 yards away then the next is around half a mile away.

Anyway, back tho the Bedroom Chair, we were chatting and the neighbour asked what I do for a living, so explained to him about my back and leg, but I also told him that as a hobby (when my pain allows me) I refurbish old or antique furniture. He seemed very interested and asked that when I finish a piece if I could give him a ring and if he could come and take a look. I agreed and took his telephone number.

 

Well it seemed that I completed three items all on the same weekend, so I gave the chap a ring.

He turned up within minutes with a trailer hooked onto his Landrover.

He came into the house and we had a cup of tea and introduced our neighbour to my wife.

After the tea and chatting was becoming a little laboured I suggested that we go out to the work shop for him to take a look at what I do in my spare time. As I knew he was coming I had a quick tidy up after taking pics of the items in the house ready for the website ( http://www.cottageshabbychic.co.uk ) and maybe even Ebay.

 

“So what is your plan for these then”, pointing at a pine dining table and chairs my neighbour asked. I told him that they were for the house for our dining room.

The he asked about a dresser that I am also in the middle of, I explained to him that I also take on commission work from clients of mine.

I explained the situation that it is much more of a hobby than a business, as I am not as able these days to work as long as I once used to.

He asked about the Bedroom Chair, “What about this? Is this for sale? And that mirror too,  are these going on your computer for sale?”.

I said that I was going to put them on my website and facebook, he just looked at me with a blank face, not really understanding what the hell I was talking about, what with him in his late sixties.

He asked me what sort of money was I going to be asking for them, so I said that £185 for the chair and £45 for the mirror.

He held his hand out to shake my hand and said “SOLD THEN”!

My jaw hit the ground, I honestly could not believe my luck. His grand daughter is moving into her new house in a few months and he is trying to get some things together for her.

Well I was over the moon with the deal and I hope his Grandaughter will be too with the lovely gift from her Grandfather.

Here are a few pics, both before, during and after:

Mirror as I bought it

Mirror as I bought it

 

mirror after restoration

mirror after restoration

Now for the Bedroom Chair:

 

bedroom chair

bedroom chair

 

Bedroom Chair after refurbishment

Bedroom Chair after refurbishment

bed2

 

Bedroom Chair after refurbishment

Bedroom Chair after refurbishment

 

Bedroom Chair after refurbishment

Bedroom Chair after refurbishment

 

Bedroom Chair after refurbishment

Bedroom Chair after refurbishment

 

They both took a lot of work and everything was done by hand, there was over 18 hours of sanding by hand the chair and the amount of different techniques I tried to get the mirror to the standard I was happy with was ridiculous. So I was very happy with the price he plaid, and I think he was too as he said let me know when you have any more.

 

So both very happy.

About Amateur Astro-Photography

Amateur Astrophotography Magazine will contain articles and videos by other amateur astrophotographers in astrophotography. A typical issue will contain hardware reviews on imaging equipment such as CCD, DSLR, and telescopes; software reviews, tutorials (e.g. Photoshop techniques), user projects and modifications, and any number of reader submitted articles. Emphasis will always on the practical side of astrophotography; with plenty of information on equipment, software, and techniques to help the enthusiast get the most out of their astrophotography experience. Hopefully, Amateur Astrophotography Magazine while offering enough material to keep even the most hard-core astrophotographer interested, will still offer a variety of practical and “basic” information to be of great value to the beginner as well. The Magazine will have a broad appeal across all levels of astrophotographers. We hope to get the (now) E-Magazine into a hardcopy print in the near future. If you think you have any information, hints, tips or would like to write a review of your equipment including the pro's, con's and ease of use, we would love to hear from you. The Amateur Astrophotography Magazine will be published online in a magazine format, but a website will accompany it with links to back copies and much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Bedroom Chair and Mirror

  1. Pingback: Bedroom Chair and Mirror « goldenvalleyartsales

Leave a comment